The 2024 Forward Prizes have now launched
The 2024 Forward Prizes have now launched

The 2024 Forward Prizes have now launched

The Forward Prizes for Poetry are the most influential awards for new poetry in the UK and Ireland, honouring fresh voices alongside internationally established names. First awarded in 1992, over the last three decades the prizes have celebrated some of the most recognised names in poetry including Simon Armitage, Thom Gunn, Seamus Heaney, Ted Hughes, Carol Ann Duffy, Claudia Rankine, Jackie Kay and Caleb Femi.

Last year, we introduced a new category to the Forward Prizes: Best Single Poem – Performed. After a brilliant reception from the poetry community, we’re thrilled to be continuing with the category in this year’s awards. We’ve made some tweaks to the criteria, so please get in touch with us, if you have any questions about the new approach. You can reach us at

The Forward Prizes for Poetry for book-length collections welcomes submissions from the editors and publishers of books. For Best Single Poem – Written, submissions must come from magazines, online journals and competitions, published in the UK and Ireland, and the Best Single Poem – Performed category will be self submission from poets. 

The Prizes ceremony is accompanied by The Forward Book of Poetry, an annual anthology which brings together the best new work published in the UK and Ireland.

Judging Process

We’ve condensed our judging this year to a single, four-judge panel. Each judge will read the books and individual poem submissions, before selecting shortlists which are announced in June. The judges will then reflect on the shortlists over the summer before announcing the winners in autumn. You can find out more about the process and eligibility by reading our entry guidance and FAQs.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top